Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The ACED Prostate Cancer Symposium

May 25 @ 5:00 pm - 7:30 pm

ACED International Alliance for Cancer Early Detection

The International Alliance for Cancer Early Detection (ACED) has a breadth of expertise in prostate cancer across the consortium and has funded an array of research in the early detection of prostate cancer.

7 funded awards will present as part of this online symposium, with projects spanning the translational pipeline from basic biology to screening. This event is open for anyone to attend and is free to register. While all awards presented have been funded by ACED, you do not need to be based at an ACED Centre to attend this event, nor do you need to work in the prostate early detection field.

Agenda

17:00 BST / 09:00 PDT: Introduction

17:10: BST / 09:10 PDT: Delineating the microenvironmental contexture of the radiologically progressing prostate cancer lesion (Vasilis Stavrinides, UCL)

17:25 BST / 09:25 PDT: Urine biomarkers for prostate cancer screening (Sharon Pitteri, Stanford)

17:40 BST / 09:40 PDT: Luminal Index MRI Identification of Treatment critical Prostate Cancer (LIMIT PCa) (Shonit Punwani, UCL)

17:55 BST / 09:55 PDT: Break

18:00 BST / 10:00 PDT: Computational modelling of tumour growth kinetics to inform early cancer detection (Nora Pashayan, UCL)

18:15 BST / 10:15 PDT: Tiered integrated diagnostics for the early detection of aggressive Prostate Cancer: The Riskman-TARGET study to develop a novel screening approach for prostate cancer (Vincent Gnanapragasam, Cambridge)

18:30 BST / 10:30 PDT: Dynamic predictive model for baseline early detection and follow-up re-evaluation of the risk of prostate cancer progression on active surveillance (PROGRESS Prostate) (Alexey Zaikin, UCL)

18:45 BST / 10:45 PDT: Risk-representative targeted biopsy for early prostate cancer detection (Yipeng Hu, UCL)

19:00 BST / 11:00 PDT: Breakout rooms

  • Room 1: Is data sharing the future of prostate cancer early detection?

This breakout room will discuss access to data, availability of quality data, and what data is needed to facilitate the next level of in-depth investigation.

  • Room 2: Active surveillance: what is the alternative and how can it be improved?

This breakout room will discuss the problem of overdiagnosis, the current mechanisms of identifying aggressive vs indolent prostate lesions, and how population risk stratification can be improved.

19:30 BST / 11:30 PDT: Close

For further information and to register click here.